Time flies! - Reisverslag uit Osaka, Japan van Laurens Hartog - WaarBenJij.nu Time flies! - Reisverslag uit Osaka, Japan van Laurens Hartog - WaarBenJij.nu

Time flies!

Door: Laurens

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Laurens

28 November 2016 | Japan, Osaka

Hey everybody!

I'm sorry that it's been a while since I wrote to you guys! Lately there's just been so many things going on! I'll try to give you a quick overview of the past few weeks, because I don't have a lot of time right now either ^^'

The weekend of 12 and 13 November, I went to Nara on Sunday with a group of about 26 people. Nara is a former capital of Japan, but currently most famous for it's many deer! The walk around freely and in great number in certain parts of the city! We first had a picknick in Nara Park (surrounded by deer) and then visited three temples, all of which had deer surrounding them! It was a really interesting experience and a lot of fun to feed them too! For 150 yen you could buy 10 'biscuits' to feed the deer. As long as you had any left on you somewhere they would actually follow you around!

The next weekend, on Saturday I had a little party at an Aussie bar in Kobe. There I had my first taste of Kangaroo Burger and Crocodile Nuggets! Both actually tasted really good! The next day, on Sunday, I went to Kyoto with about 5 other people to enjoy the beautiful kouyou, or autumn leaves. Japan has a lot of maple trees, which leaves turn extroardinary shades of red during autumn! First we walked around Arashiyama (bamboo forrest), then visited Kinkakuji (Golden Pavillion), then Ginkakuji (Silver pavillion) and followed the Philosopher's Path to a third temple before we had dinner. Then we visited one last temple, because after dark many of the temples are lit up by lights in various ways! Needless to say, everything was exceedingly beautiful that day! But I was also dead tired by the end of the day XD

Then last weekend on Saturday I had a sports event in the morning. Turned out I was the only foreigner to show up ^^' That did earn me some extra points with some Japanese students though, so hey :P We played Kin Ball. It is a sport played with a huge ball! 3 Teams wearing different colors play at the same time. Each team is made up of 4 people, 3 of which hold up the ball while the 4th person punches it away. When they do this, they have to yell OMNIKIN (don't know why) and another team's color. If that team catches the ball before it touches the floor, they get to do the same thing. If they fail to cath it, both other teams get 1 point. At the start, the teacher who was present said the winning team would get lunch on his dime... Bet he wish he hadn't said that when all 3 teams ended with 16 points!! So we all had lunch together ^^ It was a great event! :D But then I had to hurry home, because in the evening I had a party near Kobe where everybody would bring something to eat! And since a friend of mine really, really wanted to try Dutch food, I decided to make "hutspot" for the first time in my life. Including preperation work, I spent a little over 2 hours in the kitchen XD But to my surprise, it was actually quite popular among the other guests! There were all sorts of dishes there! Sushi, Takoyaki, donuts, rice crackers, you name it! It was great fun and I certainly ate my fill! :P

Then yesterday I could sleep in, do laundry, some homework, and finally go to a Takoyaki party! Yes, that's right, we made our own octopuss balls! :D And they tasted great too! Once you get the hang of it, it isn't even that hard to do, and actually really fun to do! We had many different fillings and toppings that night! And for desert we used custard instead of regular dough! I at sooo well that weekend XD

The next time I write again may take a little while again, I'm not sure. We'll see :)

Have a wonderful week everyone!


Laurens

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Laurens

Actief sinds 30 Aug. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 292
Totaal aantal bezoekers 17615

Voorgaande reizen:

01 September 2016 - 01 Februari 2017

5 Months @ Kangaku

Landen bezocht: