Gakusai = School Festival - Reisverslag uit Osaka, Japan van Laurens Hartog - WaarBenJij.nu Gakusai = School Festival - Reisverslag uit Osaka, Japan van Laurens Hartog - WaarBenJij.nu

Gakusai = School Festival

Door: Laurens

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Laurens

08 November 2016 | Japan, Osaka

Hello everybody!

This week there was only 3 days of class, Monday through Wednessday. Because starting Thursday there was a Gakusai at school! This festival is completely organaised and run by the students themselves and their various clubs and circles! There was food, drinks (although you had to look really hard for the drinks!), music, dancing, art, you name it! And it was al sooo incredably impressive! On Thursday I went to listen to a genuine gospel choir for example! They sang every thing in English and had more swing than Sister Act!
On Friday there was a dance event going on that was all about hip-hop, and I listened to an acapella group too! But Saturday was deffinitely the height of the festival for me, becasue first I watched 2 hours of modern dance, then I listened to a jazz band for 30 minutes, and I finished that day by watching traditional Japanese dance for another 2 hours! And it is simply impossible to describe how impressive all of these performances were!

The same goes for what I saw on Sunday though. On Sunday I went to the national aikido tournament for university clubs. I went there with a Japanese friend, Riku, who luckily knew how to get to the location :P We arrived around 11:00 and left around 18:30 XD It was a really interesting experience to witness, even though most of what I saw made no sense to me from my personal aikido point of view :P Regardless of differences in opinion and or style, the skill that each and every single one of the contestants showed is utterly undeniable! And my university team went home with quite a few trophies, so that's also something I'm really happy with :D

Then finally on Mondy, I was supposed to go on a hike... But I was too damn tired XD So instead, my friend Zach (with whom I was supposed to go hiking) and I went to get breakfast at a curry place around 12, then did some grocery shopping, went home to watch Zootopia, and I was still in time for my aikido training :)

So yeah, all in all a wonderful (if tiring) few days :) Now it's back to school work time!

Bye bye!


Laurens

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Laurens

Actief sinds 30 Aug. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 332
Totaal aantal bezoekers 17624

Voorgaande reizen:

01 September 2016 - 01 Februari 2017

5 Months @ Kangaku

Landen bezocht: